The Department of Community Medicine was established in September, 2018, and it is the first department in the Faculty of Clinical Sciences. The foundation Ag. Head of Department is Dr Omotowo Babatunde, a Visiting Professor of PAMO University of Medical Sciences, Port Harcourt. The department offers courses in part fulfilment of the requirements for the MBBS degrees of the University.  In addition, the department is responsible for lectures on History of Medicine and Medical Sociology to all 100 Level students. The training of the students include Didactic Lectures, Seminars, Research Projects, Clinical Exposure, Rural/Urban Postings  and  Field Trips to relevant places such as Rivers State Ministry of Health for Epidemiology, Ministry of Environment, Rivers State Waste Management Agency and some industries. The Community-Based Experience and Service (COBES) programme is included in the training of Medical Students.



The vision of the Department of Community Medicine, Faculty of Clinical Sciences, PAMO University of Medical Sciences is to be the foremost Medical University in Nigeria recognized as Center of Excellence in the training of quality doctors in community service, research and innovation.



To produce doctors who will completely provide good health services in any community, whether urban or rural, organise and supervise health care programme for the community and also initiate research to advance the frontiers of medical knowledge.